can I get the naming tool in Unity?

sstark
New face
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:23 pm

can I get the naming tool in Unity?

Postby sstark » Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:51 pm

Hi,

as the title says, I would like to use a unity version of the naming tool, as my pipeline does not use Maya.

thanks

User avatar
dez
L.F.A. TEAM
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: can I get the naming tool in Unity?

Postby dez » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:50 pm

The names of your models comes from outside of Unity.
Yes, you can change them in Unity, but it's a better idea to name them appropriately at the source or the names will just keep getting changed whenever you make a change to them in your content creation tool (maya/max/etc). So better to name the tiles appropriately there before importing or you risk making a mess of your pipeline.

FWIW, Tiled to Unity doesn't care what you name them, it uses it's own naming convention once you run Step 1) on them.

sstark
New face
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: can I get the naming tool in Unity?

Postby sstark » Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:07 pm

Thank you for your reply,

This is really not a big deal to me, just a nice to have.

I am a naming perfectionist, much like yourself. The assets I am using come from the store, and are named already. I notice the tool names them things like tile_0_0, which is fine as an end result. I was just curious about your tool, and since I was working in unity only I wasn't able to test it out.

not a big deal at all


Return to “Tiled to Unity”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests