[windows specific] Grab the default audio device

alphabunny
New face
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:24 am

[windows specific] Grab the default audio device

Postby alphabunny » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:32 am

Hello,
just a quick technical suggestion. Currently,on windows OBEY grabs whatever audio device is the default when the game is launched. Changing the default device later has no effect, audio stays on the first device.

As OBEY kind of requires a headset, this leads to me starting the game, noticing that it grabbed my speakers instead of the headset, exiting the game, switching audio devices and restarting.
It's not a big deal, as startup is quite fast, but it's one of those things that would make the experience even smoother.

Thanks,
alphabunny

User avatar
HexZyle
Regular
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:36 am

Re: [windows specific] Grab the default audio device

Postby HexZyle » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:51 am

Hmm.
Is it just me or is this also an issue with a lot of other programs?
I don't think it's just limited to OBEY, and I'm pretty sure it also can be related to your configuration of sound drivers to whether or not you experience this issue...

User avatar
dez
L.F.A. TEAM
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [windows specific] Grab the default audio device

Postby dez » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:47 pm

Hmmm...
This is an interesting problem because what OBEY does (or SHOULD do) is be remembering the name of your preferred microphone and using that.

Insofar as speakers... that is whatever Unity wants.
I can look into it and see if it's possible to set a pref for it.

alphabunny
New face
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:24 am

Re: [windows specific] Grab the default audio device

Postby alphabunny » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:45 pm

@HexZyle:
yes, it's a pretty common thing to just grab the first device. One of the few games that i know that follows audio switching flawlessly is DoTA2.

@dez:
I'm talking about output only, microphone is fine as a fixed setting. Alternatively using an (optional) fixed setting for output as well might work for OBEY, too.

Without knowing anything at all about unity, does this sound like something related? http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference ... ndler.html

User avatar
dez
L.F.A. TEAM
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [windows specific] Grab the default audio device

Postby dez » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:56 pm

hi alphabunny,

The link you provided might be a fix.
I will add it to the todo list.


Return to “ideas/suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest